In order to work in a home in the US that was constructed before 1978 there must be an EPA “Certified Renovator” assigned to the job to ensure that lead contaminants are handled and disposed of properly.
Every state in the Union has building regulations, state-mandated handling requirements and prohibitions regulating the use, handling and disposal of lead and lead-based products. (LBP’s)
In West Virginia, those lead regulations take the form of the West Virginia Lead Abatement Act.
Do I Need a Lead Certification?
West Virginia takes the threat posed to public health by toxic lead-based products very seriously. Under the West Virginia Lead Abatement Act lead is declared,
“…a toxic substance and harmful to the citizens of this state; … particularly to young children, and results in serious long-term health effects; Workers and others who come into contact with lead when removing or remediating lead-based materials are also at risk.”
Therefore the West Virginia Lead Abatement Act also mandates that a lead abatement contractor:
- Ensure that any of their employees who may come in contact with lead or who may be responsible for a lead abatement project is licensed.
- Ensure that every lead abatement project is supervised by a certified and licensed lead abatement supervisor.
West Virginia’s lead abatement regulations mirror those established by the federal government and the Environmental Protection Agency.
Ready to get your Lead Paint Certification?
How Do I Become Certified in West Virginia?
Lead abatement designer –Applicants are required to be at least eighteen years old and have completed eight hours of West Virginia Bureau of Public Health accredited coursework.
Applicants are also required to have already successfully completed the lead abatement supervisor training course, hold a bachelor’s degree in engineering, or a related profession and one year or working experience in building construction or related field.
Applicants may substitute four years’ experience in building construction, design or related field in lieu of formal collegiate level education.
Lead abatement worker- Those looking to earn certification as a lead abatement worker must be at least eighteen years old and are required to undertake sixteen hours of West Virginia Bureau of Public Health accredited in-class training.
There are no third-party exams that are valid for the lead abatement worker certification, and the cost of application is $50 for individuals and $300 for company certification.
Lead inspector- Applicants interested in earning the lead inspector certifications are required to be at least eighteen and have successfully completed twenty-four hours of West Virginia Bureau of Public Health accredited in-class training.
There are also no third-party exams that are valid for the lead abatement worker certification, and the cost of application is the same as it is for a lead abatement worker.
Lead risk assessor- Lead risk assessor applicants are required to be at least eighteen and have successfully completed sixteen hours of West Virginia Bureau of Public Health accredited in-class training.
In order to be eligible for the lead risk assessor certification applicants are required to have already successfully completed a lead-based paint inspector course and hold either:
- A bachelor’s degree in engineering, or a related profession and one year of working experience in building construction or related field.
- An Associate’s degree in engineering, or a related profession and two years of working experience in building construction or related field.
- A Gen-Ed degree with three years of working experience in building construction or related field.
Lead supervisor- Lead supervisor applicants should have already successfully earned a certification as a lead abatement worker as well as thirty-two hours of West Virginia Bureau of Public Health accredited in-class training.
Reciprocity Agreements With West Virginia
According to the West Virginia Lead Abatement Act, Workers from other states looking to conduct lead abatement in West Virginia may do so as long as they are lead-safe certified in their home state, so long as, “its requirements are at least as stringent as West Virginia’s requirements.”
Am I Required to Take a Lead Safety Refresher Course?
In West Virginia, lead abatement workers are required to renew their certifications at least once every three years and must submit proof of the successful completion of refresher training to the West Virginia Bureau of Public Health.
How is the RRP Rule Enforced in West Virginia
The Environmental Protection Agency sees a renovator or home repair contractor is the first line of defense when it comes to ensuring that lead contaminants are not accidentally or inadvertently exposed to the community.
That is why the EPA Lead Renovation, Repair, and Painting Rule (RRP Rule) mandates that any worker who receives pay for work done within a home or child-care facility built prior to 1978 must, at least, hold their Lead Abatement Worker Certification.
West Virginians who have earned one or more EPA lead certifications will have successfully completed a number of hours of in-class training on lead-safe work practices in buildings built before 1978 wherein paint or LBP’s have been disturbed in any way.
Who Must Comply with West Virginias Requirements for EPA Lead Certification
West Virginians who successfully complete the program will be certified to conduct;
- Environmental lead assessments
- Test children for elevated lead levels in their blood
- Investigate lead complaints
- Process lead abatement projects
- Inspection of lead abatement projects
- Lead licensing inspections
- Provide technical assistance regarding lead issues
- Provide public education and outreach on the dangers of lead and LBP’s
Becoming Certified in West Virginia
The West Virginia Lead Abatement act defines the various lead abatement roles and by default the certifications that are required in order to work in a building with possible lead contamination legally.
Additional Compliance Rules and Resources for West Virginia
Contractors looking for more information on lead-safe certifications in West Virginia are encouraged to visit the webpage of the Radiation, Toxics and Indoor Air Division of the West Virginia Bureau of Public Health.
Additional Answers Regarding EPA Lead Certification in West Virginia
The administering of the EPA lead certifications in West Virginia falls on the shoulders of the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Services and the Radiation, Toxics, & Indoor Air Division Lead Program.